Opinion: I just realised I don’t like Macklemore.

I just realised I don’t like Macklemore, like, at all. I don’t really know why I ever did. I have The Heist on my iPod, I’d go mad for Thrift Shop on a pissed night out, and I felt super empowered when Same Love was first released and championed marriage equality. But that’s all gone now, and what I am left with is a constant irritation towards him and his music, like a mosquito bite, satisfying to scratch, so this is me scratching it.

I have realised I don’t think he’s a very good musician, maybe I just got caught up in all the hype when he burst onto the scene early this year. I don’t know how it has taken me so long to realise I don’t like him.

Upon listening to The Heist properly all the way through I came across a track I usually always skip. The song is called My Oh My and maybe it’s my British sensibilities taking over but a dude rapping about the glory of baseball just doesn’t get my juices flowing; I found it cringe worthy. Another track called BomBom (or some shit) is just a long and meaningless beat which feels like it should have something rapped on top of it – filler much? Can’t Hold Us is okay though, I like the lyric about Shark Week.

To me, Macklemore is the Jessie Pinkman of rap music; everybody loves him but underneath it all is he good at what he does, well as far as rap goes, not really. There is some questionable rhyming and lazy lyrics, nothing that jumps out at you as being clever, or ingenious or even controversial, even though you can see he’s trying reeeeeeally hard to be. It’s very straight forward, safe song writing.

Now don’t get me wrong, I think it’s wonderful that a white, heterosexual, cis-gendered, able-bodied, wealthy dude has been given a platform and uses it to talk about white privilege and homophobia, however I don’t really think that he deserves to be hailed as the most progressive rap musician of all time, and I’m not keen to be thankful to him for doing so. There are plenty of rappers out there who talk and rap about sexuality, racism, and other important social issues – just look at Frank Ocean, Janelle Monae, even Tyler, The Creator, but why have they not been given the same platform as Macklemore? Well, it’s obvious, isn’t it. Same Love is now so over played I find myself screaming at the radio to turn it off because they’re just killing the message by constantly throwing it at everyone and pissing us off.

I’d rather see more queer black dudes and ladies getting as popular as Macklemore, that alone would bring attention to the issues of injustice Macklemore makes his living rapping about. I’d rather listen Cakes Da Killa.

6 thoughts on “Opinion: I just realised I don’t like Macklemore.

    1. Interesting, thank you for passing that along! Yeah from listening to Neon Cathedral and Starting Over I can see that he is an inspiration for those who have been effected by substance abuse, I didn’t mention it because I don’t think it’s my place to criticise that aspect of his music because it does not effect me directly, ya know? But that is a very valid point!

  1. I really like Macklemore. I agree some of his stuff is really cringy and he has had way too much praise for same love, but I really like the way he tells a clear story through pretty much all of his songs, one of my faves is ‘wings’, he raps about consumerism so well and it genuinely gave me chills the first time I heard it. His lyrics are clear and you dont need to really analyse them, its not obscure or abstract like so many rappers and artists trying to be clever and controversial for the sake of it. He raps what he knows and is passionate, and I personally think he is very talented (better than SO many famous mainstream rappers who only rap about booty shaking and getting pissed). I also didnt realise baseball wasn’t for white people!? (Though i do agree thats not a great song!) I agree with the comment above, his most cleverly written and engaging songs are the ones about his addiction. My main criticism of macklemore wod probably be that that he comes across overly preachy sometimes. Can’t hold is also such. A. Tune.

    1. I think that’s the core of it, and I agree with you, there are plenty of rappers rapping about booty shaking and getting laid and glorifying substance abuse, so it’s always nice when someone breaks that mould – but there are so many varying degrees of artist out there who fall under the minority umbrella doing exactly the same thing but not getting anywhere near the success or appreciation, and I think that’s what bothers me the most. His lyrics are clear, but they’re predictable to the casual listener (me) – however as I said in previous comments, I am sure his words have more weight to them if you have been through the same thing he has.

      Also baseball isn’t just for any particular race (obviously) hahah that was simply an oversight of my writing! Thanks for pointing it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

