TOP SINGLES OF 2013

Image

Before TL goes on hiatus, here is my final offering of 2013! As we move into another year, here are a small selection of my favourite singles to be released this year. Once again all opinions are my own, and I’m pretty sure I’ve missed one or two. Happy new year folks.

Arctic MoneysDo I Wanna Know?Image

I can’t say I have ever been the biggest Arctic Monkeys enthusiast, but this single almost made a fan out of me. It’s still easily recognisable thanks to Alex Turner’s accent, and also possesses the best riff of 2013, while at the same time being intensely sexy and lyrically poetic. While I wait patiently for more from The Last Shadow Puppets, this is tiding me over nicely.

Janelle Monáe – Q.U.E.E.N ft. Erykah BaduImage

If you haven’t seen Janelle Monáe‘s performance of Q.U.E.E.N on Jools Holland earlier this year, you should go do that right now. Super slick, funky and powerful, it’s the crowning glory of The Electric Lady, encompassing issues of race, sexuality, gender. It’s a superb song with a strong message packaged neatly into a 1960s monochrome aesthetic.

DisclosureHelp Me Lose My Mind ft. London GrammarImage

When two of the biggest names of the year release a single together, it’s always really exciting. If it is as good as this, then it is really really exciting. Help Me Lose My Mind is a collaboration between deep house darlings Disclosure and the awe inspiring vocals of London Grammar‘s Hannah Reid. The video was instantly banned on the grounds of mock drug usage. Reid’s vocals add much emotion and depth to the track, while Disclosure’s rippling and pulsating bass lines create a wholly sublime listening experience.

ParamoreNow
Image

As I have stated when Paramore‘s self titled album broke into my top 10, the whole record, including Now were a massive slow burn for me. However, after a few more listens, and a chance to see it performed live, I was completely won over. It’s a frankly brilliant opening release, and a great track to present the new and arguably improved Paramore. They are a band that has always maintained a great balance between sing-a-long lyrics and rock out guitar, and Now is no different.

Iggy AzaleaWork
Image

I had a short lived but intense love affair with Iggy Azalea this year, and it was all down to Work. For all her faults and controversies, Iggy Azalea is a good rapper, and Work is badass as hell. The beat is ridiculously danceable, combining classic strings with dirty bass lines and punchy synths. Plus that ‘head over heels’ line has caused a fair few chuckles. She releases her debut LP next year titled The New Classic and I am hoping and praying it’s more Work and less Bounce.

HaimFalling
Image

The spirit of the Californian sunshine is always evoked when I listen to Haim, but not as much so as it does in Falling. Echoed rippling drums with breathy layered lyricism are effortlessly charming, and reminiscent of modern incarnation of Fleetwood Mac, which is no bad thing what so ever.

Daft PunkGet Lucky ft. Pharrell WilliamsImage

I am still not sick of Get Lucky, and for that I am thankful. Any night, any club, anywhere, I will be on that dance floor every time Nile Rodger’s guitar graces my eardrums. It’s a brilliant song, and definitely makes disco cool again.

ChvrchesGun
chvrches-gun-608x608

Most blogs/publications are arguing The Mother We Share as Chvrches best single of this year, but because I like to go against the grain (ish), I am going to say Gun is my favourite Chvrches single to be released so far, which it is. I remember listening too it solidly on repeat for about two days in the summer, and loved the passive aggressive nature of the lyrics and insanely catchy chorus. This is what synth pop is all about.

LordeTennis Courtlorde-tennis-court

Again, I refuse to say Royals is my favourite of Lorde‘s singles this year because it simply isn’t. I have gone on and on about Lorde on this blog so I will keep this brief; Tennis Court is a triumph in minimalism and songwriting, and the video is hands down my favourite of the year.

Bombay Bicycle ClubCarry MeImage

The newest of the bunch, but one of the best. Carry Me has made me very excited for Bombay Bicycle Club‘s 2014 release. I have been an on-again-off again fan since I saw them support My American Heart (I know) in 2007 so it’s great to see them doing so well and producing such great music. It’s upbeat, infectious and a change from the quaint folk sound we’re used too.

Thank you again Becky for the banner!

2 thoughts on “TOP SINGLES OF 2013

Leave a Reply

