New Video: Mø

Another new release this week was ‘s latest collaboration with producer Diplo, the melodic Kamikazi. Riding the waves of success after the Lean On collaboration with Major Lazer this summer, I’m glad that she is back to making her own music again (even if it is with 1/3 of Major Lazer) but Kamikazi doesn’t quite do it for me, maybe I am just turning into one of those who only liked the artist before they got popular – but maybe it will grow on me, I’m not giving up on her just yet. The video was released today, all bold costume choices and fast cars, check it out above.


New Music: Grimes

I forgot how excellent the fourth quarter is. In fact, I am so excited by all this new music, that I am even blogging again. Despite all this new music to sink my teeth into, it’s Grimes‘ upcoming Art Angels that I have been anticipating the most.

I adore Visions, when it was released I bought the CD for the cover art, and listened to it on repeat, admiring the simple complexities of Grimes’ artistic and musical genius. I was even on board with the heavily criticised Go when it dropped last year, and ever since then I have been waiting patiently for new music. Even REALiTi gave me fleeting hope (which has now appeared on the track listing for the new record), but alas, no follow up to Visions was to be seen for a few more months. However, I was not worried, as I believe that any artist bold enough to scrap a whole record because “it sucked”, was looking to produce something a little special. Flesh without Blood & Life in the Vivid Dream are the first tasters of this new direction, and in my opinion, it’s fucking great. Act I is Flesh without Blood, a slick and dynamic hit that packs one big punch; four-minutes of solid energy that is painfully catchy, and easily the pop-est thing she has ever released. Don’t get me wrong, I fell in love with Grimes for her dark, brooding minimalism, but I just cannot hate it, I can’t even criticise it, especially as it has been released alongside a pastel kitsch music video, complete with angel wings, 18th century haute couture, blood and dancing, all produced, directed, written and edited by Grimes herself. Act II, Life in the Vivid Dream slows it right down to a tempo that feels more familiar and brings us forward into the next stage of Grimes’ artistic discourse. It’s an explosive introduction to what I hope is a rich and vibrant record. She can do no wrong in my eyes, and I hope I’m not disappointed on November 6th.

Art Angels track listing

  1. laughing and not being normal
  2. California
  3. SCREAM [ft. Aristophanes]
  4. Flesh without Blood
  5. Belly of the beat
  6. Kill V. Maim
  7. Artangels
  8. Easily
  9. Pin
  10. Realiti
  11. World Princess part II
  12. Venus Fly [ft. Janelle Monáe]
  13. Life in the Vivid Dream
  14. Butterfly

New Music: Grimes

Okay so I am emerging out of winter hibernation (hiatus) to post Grimes‘ new music. Released a couple of days ago, REALiTi looks to be taken from Grimes’ scrapped LP, and released with a vibrant new video. The footage, however, was shot back in 2013, but I am very glad to see it has been salvaged and shared after so long. As much as I enjoyed Go, REALiTi reminds me far more of the songs from Visions which caught my attention to start with. There is a touch of ‘late-night-clubland’ about it, but not enough to push it into the territory entirely. I hope more tracks like this were saved from the scrap heap, and I can’t wait for Ms Boucher to properly start releasing music again.

New Video: Taylor Swift

Queen of the world (for right now) Taylor Swift has parodied herself in the video to tongue-in-cheek single Blank Space. In the video, Taylor confronts her public persona, and turns from loving girlfriend to enraged, possessive man-eater in under three minutes. It’s great, she smashes up a fancy car, burns clothing and stands on a horse. There is also an unexplained deer. I like that she doesn’t take herself to seriously, and the video for Blank Space illustrates just that.

New Video: Lorde

The video Yellow Flicker Beat, taken from the upcoming The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 Soundtrack, was released today. Lorde, who has also curated the OST, dons several suits and shows off her distinctive moves in this simple but confident performance of the track. The soundtrack is to be released in conjuncture with the movie and will feature a remix by Kanye West, and tracks by Diplo, Charlie XCX, The Chemical Brothers and more.

Also check out Chvrches contribution, Dead Air.